Evaluation of digital inclusion in day centres and housing facilities

 
Initiator
Project role
Evaluation

Objectives

queraum. cultural and social research was commissioned by the Fonds Soziales Wien (FSW) to evaluate the situation of digital inclusion in the fields of day centres and housing for persons with disabilities. The target groups of this evaluation project are staff members and clients (with learning disabilities). Digital inclusion is a major element of inclusion and participation as laid down in the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Comprehensive digital inclusion requires a lot: from an adequate infrastructure (e.g. hardware), (inclusive) software and support provisions (e.g. media literacy trainings) to the individual media literacy of the persons involved. Persons with learning disabilities are at a major disadvantage and face many barriers on their way to real digital inclusion.

With this evaluation project, the FSW aims to contribute to the development of media literacy, to make visible the experiences of clients and staff members with good practice in new media and to contribute generally to the implementation of the UN Convention.

Implementation of the evaluation

The evaluation team is responsible for the analysis of a comprehensive online survey among staff members. In addition, clients (in the fields of day centres, qualification/training, occupational inclusion, housing and the users of the self-advocacy centre) are interviewed in semi-structured interviews. The final report summarizes the findings of both parts of the evaluation project and presents good practice in digital inclusion in FSW provisions.

Evaluierung zur digitalen Teilhabe in Tagesstruktur und Wohnen

 
Auftraggeber*in
Projektrolle
Evaluation

Ziele

Im Auftrag des FSW führt queraum. kultur- und sozialforschung eine Evaluation zur digitalen Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderung in den Leistungen Tagesstruktur und Wohnen durch. Zielgruppen sind die Mitarbeiter*innen und Kund*innen (mit sogenannter intellektueller Behinderung bzw. Lernschwierigkeiten) dieser Leistungen. Die digitale Inklusion ist gemäß der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der Teilhabe und Partizipation. Umfassende digitale Inklusion ist voraussetzungsreich: Die Voraussetzungen reichen von einer geeigneten technischen Ausstattung (v.a. Hardware) über die Verfügbarkeit von entsprechender (barrierefreier) Software und Unterstützungsangeboten (z.B. medienpädagogische Trainings) bis hin zur individuellen Medienkompetenz der Nutzer*innen. Menschen mit (intellektuellen) Behinderungen stehen in diesem Zusammenhang vielen Barrieren gegenüber, die eine umfassende digitale Teilhabe erschweren können.

Mit dem Evaluationsprojekt zur digitalen Teilhabe verfolgt der FSW übergreifende Zielsetzungen, um zur Weiterentwicklung der Medienkompetenz beizutragen, Erfahrungen der Kund*innen und Trägerorganisationen zu neuen Medien mit Good-Practice-Beispielen sichtbar zu machen und somit einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention zu leisten.

Umsetzung der Evaluation

Das Evaluationsteam wurde mit der Auswertung einer umfassenden Online-Erhebung der Mitarbeiter*innen beauftragt. Zudem werden Kund*innen der Leistungen Tagesstruktur, Berufsqualifizierung, Berufsintegration, Vollbetreutes Wohnen, Teilbetreutes Wohnen und die Kund*innen des Projektes Selbstvertretungszentrum in qualitativen Leitfadeninterviews befragt. Der Endbericht fasst die Ergebnisse beider Untersuchungen zusammen und stellt Good-Practice-Beispiele zur digitalen Teilhabe vor.

Ihr*e Ansprechpartner*in